Archive for July 11, 2011

Sprecher Black Bavarian

Posted in Porter with tags , on July 11, 2011 by Steve

Sprecher Black Bavarian – Brewed by Specher Brewing Company in Glendale, Wisconsin – 6.0% alcohol

So a quick little note. My girlfriend, the best, cutest little thing in the world, signed me up to Beer Clubs of America, and every month I receive a 12 pack containing 3 bottles of 4 different beers. This shipment came with some Sprecher and Sea Dog (2 brews from each, 3 bottles for each brew). I’ve never really tried any dark beers because they scare me. I hate Guinness (maybe I’ll give it another try soon…) so I’ve been afraid to try anything similar to that. But that’s the point of this blog, to try new beers and tell the world, or the 3 people that view this, all about them.

Black Bavarian is described as a porter in beer competiton, and a porter I have learned is simply a dark beer. There’s more to it than that but who cares. It’s also said to be a great alternative to a dessert and that it should be drank (drunk? drinken? dranken?) at 60 degrees. Ummm….sorry, but I’m not sure any beer should ever be drank (drunk? drinken? dranken?) that warm, but that’s just me.

It smells like wheat bread, and after the first sip, it has a slight coffee taste. I hate coffee. The girlfriend says “blech” (she wanted to make sure I included that, but she hates any beer not fruity). I don’t think its terrible, just not really my thing.

Sprecher has some other beers too, one of which came with this shipment, so look for that review coming soon. If you’re ever in Glendale, Wisconsin, be sure to check them out. I usually write all their hours and stuff here but their website has a lot of words and my head hurts right now. Go here to check it out.

Final Rating –  2.5 pints

River Horse Summer Blonde Ale

Posted in Summer Ale with tags , on July 11, 2011 by Steve

River Horse Summer Blonde Ale – Brewed by River Horse Brewing Company in Lambertville, NJ – 4% alcohol.

First instinct when tasting this beer is that it’s simply a real damn good beer. I know it seems like a bunch of summery beers are being reviews but, helloooo, it’s summer. A lot of these are only seasonal, so might as well do it now.

River Horse’s website doesn’t contain a whole lot of information, but Beer Advocate describes this as a blonde ale (probably because of the name…). To make it simple, I’m going to categorize it as a summer ale because I don’t think there is much of a difference. Again, I’m not a beer snob, so if there is, too bad. I don’t care if there is a different fermentation method or whatever, its a damn summer ale.

Anyway, this beer fits the bill. Beer Advocate surprisingly only gave this a grade of a C+ but they’re a bunch of snobs over there who complain about not being enough foam, and not having the enough hints of caramel and it doesn’t sparkle enough and it only has 2.75 inches of foam when poured rather than 3. WHO CARES!!! MEN DRINK BEER! THEY DON”T CARE ABOUT THIS CRAP!! This beer is yummy. It’s tasty. It’s delicious. Got it? It’s light, with great drinkability (6 pack gone in no time). Definitely deserves a spot next to the Corona, Sam Adams Summer Ale,  Blue Point Summer Ale, etc. inside that cooler. Me personally, I say support your microbrewers and leave the Corona at the store. This one is just as good if not better.

As always, if your in the area, you can visit River Horse Brewing Company at 80 Lambert Lane, Lambertville, NJ 08530. The Brewery is opened for samples Friday through Sunday from 12-5pm. Tours on Friday are self guided and Saturday/Sunday are guided at 1,2,3 and 4. Definitely check this place out. I’m putting it on my list. Looks like they have about 6 other beers that sound mmmmmmmmmm tasty.

Final rating – 4.5 Pints  4.5 pints