Victory Whirlwind Witbier

Victory Whirwind Witbier – Brewed by Victory Brewing Company out of Dowington, PA – 5.0%

First, I apologize and hope Victory doesn’t mind me stealing their picture. I took one and it seems like my phone deleted it along with all my other beer pictures. Bastard.

Whirlwind Witbier was voted 2005 Best of the Mid Atlantic / Southeast Belgian Wit (vit) at some competition or other. It smells like a wheat beer with its lemony citrus goodness and I guess that is to be expected since it is a wheat beer. Immediate thoughts after my first sup were that it’s not too bad, but I’ve had better. It’s a pretty light, sessionable beer and goes down quick, but I think when it comes to a wheat beer, I want more flavor or more, I don’t know, something. It’s lacking something that puts it above other wheat beers. That isn’t necessarily a bad thing either. Maybe I was just expecting more from Victory as a number of their other brews are downright delicious.

I see no reason most people wouldn’t enjoy this beer. It’s light, citrusy, and it doesn’t taste horrible. Just think it’s a little too light for my tastes. I almost wonder if there is too much citrus overwhelming any other possible flavors. Who knows, I’m no expert and my palate is suspect.

Final Rating –  (3.5 pints)

Leave a Reply

