Flying Dog Underdog Atlantic Lager

Flying Dog Underdog Atlantic Lager – Brewed by Flying Dog Brewery out of Frederick, MD – 4.7% alcohol

Since I started getting into craft brews, I’ve always been a fan of Flying Dog. They were one of the first variety packs I bought to help get me started on the journey of my “beer-awakening” and I obviously could not have started off any better. I haven’t had all of their creations, but from In-Heat Wheat, Snake Dog IPA, Doggy Style Classic Pale Ale, it’s very hard to pick a bad choice, if any such choice even exists from Flying Dog. Plus, look at the artwork on their labels. It’s fantastic. **FUN FACT** Flying Dog founder George Stranahan lived right down the road from Hunter S. Thompson in Colorado. An artist by the name of Ralph Steadman had done many works for Hunter, including art for “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas” and was introduced to George by Hunter in 1996, and has been doing the label artwork for Flying Dog ever since.

So now onto the brew. Once again, Flying Dog does not disappoint. Right off the bat it’s very very good. Has a real crisp, smooth, delicious taste with no real aftertaste which is to be expected of a lager. This beer doesn’t lack the hops, using both Perle and Goldings hops, but it doesn’t slap you in the face, and doesn’t leave that bitterness that so many people love or hate in ales. It isn’t heavy, but it isn’t light either. This may very well be one of my favorite lagers of all time.  If you’re looking for what types of food it would go with, Flying Dog suggests “salads, cheeses, seafood, and light proteins”.

As some of you know, often I’ll go to my local beer store, make my own 6 pack, and write reviews on that one tasting. This is one of those times I wish I had more. Not so that I could give it a better chance, take more notes, etc, but because it was so damn good, I almost finished it before I could even make any notes.  This beer goes down quick, so be careful. It’s perfect for hot summer days, or even just for the hell of it, because really, why not? What specific reason do you need to be able to enjoy a delicious libation of this magnitude (or any magnitude for that matter)? None. Exactly. Go out and try this stuff. You will not be sorry.

Final Rating – 4.5 Pints (4.5 Pints)

One Response to “Flying Dog Underdog Atlantic Lager”

  1. Sam Waterburry Says:

    One of the world’s oldest drinking songs, you may recognize the tune

Leave a Reply

