Shipyard IPA – Fuggles India Pale Ale

Fuggles IPA – Brewed by Shipyard Brewing from Portland, Maine – 5.8% alcohol

Let me first start by saying I FINALLY went through the trouble of finding out why its called an India Pale Ale (not really, my beer of the month club comes with little newsletters and this was a tidbit in it): The IPA came about when the British royals were living in India during the 1800s. They demanded that their favorite beers be shipped to them, but the month-long ocean trip destroyed the beer. A British brewer created an ale with more alcohol (hence why IPAs are stronger) so that they could last the month-long trip…. and there you have it; the India Pale Ale.

Ok, now Fuggles. This came in a variety pack I bought (bought 2 in one day…I was feeling ambitious). After opening it, it definitely smells like an IPA. Lots of hops, and to me, it carries the bitterness from start to end. It’s a stronger IPA, not something you should start out with in the IPA field if you’ve never had one before. If I wasn’t experienced in IPAs, I probably wouldn’t like it, but overall, it’s not that bad.

Strong at first, but after a few gulps, it gets easier. Definitely has some citrusness and your typical IPA tastes and smells. I dunno, I’m a little up in the air about this one. It’s good, but not…it’s one of those beers you really have to be in the mood for. The day I tried this just wasn’t one of those days.

Overall rating – (3 pints)

Leave a Reply

