21st Amendment – Hell or High Watermelon

Hell or High Watermelon – Brewed by 21st Amendment Brewery from San Francisco, CA – 4.9% alcohol

I have never heard of 21st Amendment, but looking at their collection of beers, I can’t wait to try more. They

have “Monks Blood”, “Fireside Chat”, “Brew Free or Die IPA”, and many others. They sound so fun!

Anyway, this was another brew I tried on tap at The Wherehouse, the same night I tried the Summer Shandy. Before I arrived, my homeboy Jay texted me saying “I’m trying this watermelon beer at The Wherehouse, you have to try it”. I don’t think he was aware of our plans to go to dinner there that night, but I’m glad he told me about this beer.

It’s a watermelon flavored wheat beer that again, does the whole fruit thing the right way. Surprisingly, it’s not red, which I expected. It looks like your normal wheat beer. You can definitely smell the watermelon, and before tasting it, I was expecting to be overpowered by the taste of watermelon. I wasn’t. It hits you with just the right watermelon after taste that makes you wanting more. Simply delicious.

The day we went to dinner, it was a brutal scorching hot day here in NY. I left work with my temperature gauge reading 106. Drinking this at a restaurant off tap and this day was awesome. It’s an excellent beer to come in to and cool off with. I won’t lie, I did feel like a chick drinking it, but who cares. Good beer is good beer and that should be enough for anybody.

The 21st Amendment Brewery is located at 563 2nd Street, San Francisco, CA 94107. They are also a restaurant and the menu looks amazing. Not sure if they do tours, but they are open daily. If your out that way, definitely stop in and check them out.

Final Rating – 4.5 Pints (4.5 pints)

One Response to “21st Amendment – Hell or High Watermelon”

  1. I love this beer, It’s a man’s answer to Mike’s Hard lemonade without that awful ulcer-inducing sugary taste. Perfect summertime beer? perhaps

Leave a Reply

